• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Ambiance:

  • Price:

  • Music:

  • Service:

  • Food:


Review Highlights

  • JuileeManjrekar JuileeManjrekar
  • Been here twice, enjoyed both times! Jan 16, 2014

    It's not everyday that you get to eat food of splendid quality and yet not burn a hole in your wallet! Situated at a corner, this is the ideal place for a relaxed lunch or dinner! With a glass of chilled beer, and light music playing in the background, you can already tell that you are going to enjoy every bit of your meal! So, when you do decide to go there, possibly on a lazy Sunday afternoon, don't forget to try the Beef Chilly, Chicken Steak with Caramelised Onions with an overdose of potato mash (seriously they need to cut that quantity).

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

    Music:

  • mirajkar_ankita mirajkar_ankita
  • Worth your money and time! Jan 03, 2014

    I have been to Cafe Universal a couple of times with my friends and I must say that I have enjoyed every visit I have made. The place is calm and really spacious, the staff is not very helpful at the same time its not rude as well, I liked the service because I found that the staff is not interfering and they just don't disturb you, they attend us only when you call them. Music is fine. Retro 90's country music is played at a very low volume that gives you enough room to enable you to talk amongst your group. I loved the sizzler, burger and cheese balls that I have order every time I visit the... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

    Music:

  • curlyrohit curlyrohit
  • Victorian era bar! Nov 24, 2013

    Easily Bombay's best kept secrets and ought be kept that way! Wrought iron windows, wooden chairs and art form the beautiful decor. Tourists and people like me who prefer quieter places come here. Evenings are particularly packed as hordes of bankers from the nearby area throng the bar. The offerings are quite limited and are nothing extra-ordinary. Sip the beer, catch up with your self and watch the time go by.

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

    Music:

  • foodiejunkie foodiejunkie
  • Simply Awesome!!! Mar 22, 2013

    I went there with bunch of colleagues today for lunch. Believe me our lunch time got extended from 1 hr to 2 hrs... :) not exaggerating! The place is super awesome! The paintings on the wall are interesting and ambiance is very chilled out. The food menu is extensive and have variety of food items. My personal recommendation is a Hamburger! For the people who eat beef, do try this out! It's huge, tasty and filling! Also the Chicken Crispy is nice and chicken burger is good! We had so much relishing on the huge burger that we didn't realize our lunch time had passed long time back :) Surely going... read more

  • Jeejiana Jeejiana
  • Long Live CAfe Universal Feb 21, 2013

    I TOtally agree with Tristan 777. This place has a very unique n the coolest ambience. Nothing hyped yet very warm n cozy. The other TWO pubs/cafes- Mondegar and Leopold are OVERLY hyped and Expensive which is why it attracts Crowds all the time.

    Cafe Universal is so very Roomier and Ventilated than the Leopold and Mondegar where u the tables and chairs are so tightly packed that one cant even budge an inch without disturbing the next table.

    Food wise Cafe universal is pretty decent and very reasonably priced. Whereas Leopold is a Total Ripoff !! Quantity also at Universal is
    ... read more

  • hansa1215 hansa1215
  • Ma Hubbys fav n now evn mine Nov 01, 2012

    Ma hubby visits dis place nearly every Saturday for a drink and chat with buddies after work and loves dis place to the core. He made a point to take me to dis place and trust me the food is gr8. Ambiance s nice nothing larger than life nothing over the top. Just a place to sit n chill n have a cold cold beer with Ur buddies......

  • senti_for_food senti_for_food
  • Pathetic service,direspectful waiters, avg food Aug 25, 2012

    2 days back, went to Cafe Universal for the first time, with a group of friends, . We asked the waiter about the popular items . His answer was "everything on the menu is the same, only names are different". When we inquired about the ingredients of an item, he was almost shouting " it has whats mentioned on the menu". When we showed him nothing is mentioned, he went away without responding and came back 20 minutes later asking have you decided? Service is at snail's pace.Nobody cares for the customer. Never going there again. Won't recommend to anyone ever.

  • AGK13 AGK13
  • Terrible Experience-Worst service from Management Aug 24, 2012

    Have been to Cafe Universal a couple of times and always found the service below average. Our last experience was the worst experience we encountered in a restaurant.

    Till our last visit we used to order the standard stuff like chicken sizzler, chilly chicken, chicken manchurian...etc. IMO these items were just about average and were priced accordingly as well (Leopold/Mondys is expensive but far better in terms of taste). During our last visit we thought of gambling a bit and ordered a fish sizzler. We had the fish sizzler on our table after around 20 mins from placing the order and immed
    ... read more

  • navitakhanna504 navitakhanna504
  • Universalieeee Jun 02, 2012

    Cafe universal---- fish sizzler is my favourite

  • kvas78 kvas78
  • Good food, cheap beer May 14, 2012

    Universal is just a few minutes walk from my office, so I've been here many times in the evenings after work, and occasionally for lunch. The Universal Club Sandwich, which is big enough for two people, makes an excellent cheap, quick lunch at Rs. 200. For a heftier lunch, the dhansaks are good, as are the burgers. For dinner, most of the sizzlers are good, with the stuffed fish sizzler my personal favorite. Like Mondys, they have a range of freshly squeezed juices available on order, and, of course, lots of beer options as well.

Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Mumbai : All Zones| South Mumbai | Western Suburbs | Central Mumbai | Central Suburbs | Navi Mumbai | Thane
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Mumbai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :