• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV
  • Price:

  • Service:

  • Food:

  • Ambiance:


Reviews of New Sardar

first reviewed by prabhuvn

Review Highlights

  • shubham2796 shubham2796
  • Best at Low prices Dec 08, 2013

    Hotel New Sardar is famous in Lalbaug and Chinchpokli area. They have now started self-service which looks odd but you'll forget this all after eating its breakfast. Talking about lunch, it's affordable to almost every person as prices of the thali are average in price. Taste of food is just awesome. A perfect meal.

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • shilps05 shilps05
  • VFM and vintage Sep 01, 2013

    Landmark for the area for many years, this eatery has been serving delicious fares all along. It was sad to hear that they are cutting costs and not able to retain staff during a recent visit. So, looking at the sad state of affair had to opt for takeaway than actual eat in.

    We asked for two types of Grilled Sandwiches, Butter Masala Dosa and their famed Missal Pav. Their sandwiches are creatively named and so correctly. Not two have been alike as noticed earlier and happy to inform that they’ve maintained that standard. In our case both grilled sandwiches were made to near perfection;
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • vgu1978 vgu1978
  • Awesome Food.. Apr 20, 2013

    If you have been to Lalbagh Cha Raja, the famous and reigning deity of Mumbai, then it is very easy to locate this restaurant. From the place where you enter the Ganpati pandal, keep walking towards CST, at the corner on the next junction is New Sardar.

    This restaurant has an old-world charm to it. High ceiling, an Irani restaurant type appearance [was it an Irani Joint before, I don’t know], hand painted boards with some important information on them, sun-mica laminated tables and bench seats.

    The menu card here is very expansive but for the convenience of the customers,
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • AshwinPai AshwinPai
  • Wholesome, traditional & innovative Nov 26, 2011

    If there was ever a food that defines a people, Misal defines the working Man of Maharashtra. Found just about everywhere in the state an energy packed budget meal if there ever was one. Having eaten it from childhood to adulthood in just about every type of eatery in Mumbai, I am arguably a connoisseur of misal and I can honestly proclaim, you have not eaten Misal if you have not eaten Misal at New Sardar in Chinchpokli, Mumbai.

    The only problem if any is the numerous tempting selections on the menu. From their signature Garlic Dosa and Oscar Sandwich to traditional dishes such as
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • nagesh nagesh
  • GREAT FOOD Mar 13, 2010

    As A die hard fan of Misal and having eaten it at many places in Mumbai, I should say that the Misal at New Sardar is the best.Their invention GARLIC DOSA and Iced Tea is also not to be missed.Waiting eagerly for my next visit to Mumbai to eat at New Sardar, as I live in Bangalore.

  • tempestglory tempestglory
  • life saver... Aug 16, 2009

    worked in the vicinity very briefly and Sardar was a lifesaver...since there arent too many places to eat around there...yummy food...light on my wallet...love their Oscar sandwich and their Kali daal & roti...yummm...still catch up with old colleagues there...miss the food....

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • hemantp hemantp
  • the best Maharshtrian food Aug 17, 2007

    Great Taste : Reasonable prices is the feature of New Sardar Hotel.
    Missal , I would rate as the best in the town.I can say that because I am a die hard missal fan and have eaten missal at various places.Also the quantity is very good so the taste. Not just missal ,but batsal,Vangyachi [Brinjal] bhaji,Batata Wada is also great . The new addition [New sardar invention] Garlic Dosa is also very tasty and unique which you won't find at any other place so easily.
    I have seen many people coming to this hotel for years to eat this special food.
    The range of dishes is also unending with
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • raknala raknala
  • BURRRRRP! Aug 13, 2007

    Burrrrrp!

    Think about ‘New Sardar’, Kalachowkie, and one starts salivating! There is nowhere in this city where one can get anything like the choice of ‘mooh me paani’ misals, corn and cheese grilled alfa plus, batsal (meal in itself), garlic cheese dosa (ooh!), sania ('indian' cousin to 'english' alfa), etc.....etc, and at prices which are a steal! The iced tea is a 'must drink' here.

    Vivek Prabhu, the 'Sardar of Kalachowkie', CA by qualification, but hotelier by heritage, is a foodie himself; a dreamer and a creator of exotic but simple innovations which he prices such that
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • williampinto williampinto
  • Abolute VFM Aug 11, 2007

    For a hotel that's been started in 1932, the place is absolutely neat and clean and very well maintained. It situated at the corner junction of two streets and can be mistaken for one of the old Irani joints. But make no mistake, the food's vegetarian and absolutely value for money.
    After reading the earlier misal review on burrp, decided to try it out. Absolutely great tasting misals. Very well made.
    Make it a point to meet the wonderful owner of the place, Vivek Prabhu. A third generation restauranteur, very well qualified (he's a Chartered Accountant) and very passionate about the
    ... read more

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:

  • gaupai gaupai
  • fantastic!!! Aug 09, 2007

    ate at this neat and proper restaurant and was amazed with the food

    the garlic dosa the alpha plus sandwich and the misals were amazing,,,try the ice tea its great

    cant wait to eat here again

    all lovers of good food must visit this place!!!

    Food:

    Service:

    Ambiance:

    Price:



Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Mumbai : All Zones| South Mumbai | Western Suburbs | Central Mumbai | Central Suburbs | Navi Mumbai | Thane
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Mumbai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :