• Login with your burrp! account

  • burrp! ID

  • Password

  • Keep me signed in!
  • Forgot Password?
  • Not a burrper Yet?

  • That's okay, we still love you.

  • Cringing, craving, bingeing, braving... you always have an opinion on what's hot and what's not in your city and we just love to hear it. Besides, there's no better place to satiate that itch to bitch!
Places | Events | Reviews | TV

Events

Events at Souk Restaurant, Taj Mahal Palace
Sunday Brunch
Savour an exciting palate of dining for Sunday Brunch
  • kaian kaian
  • Souk Aug 17, 2013

    From burrp! Mobile App
    A market place is the literal translation. And truly it is. A market of exotic dishes from the Middle East. Definately try the mezzo buffet it's worth it. Full paisa vasool! The hummus is the best i'v ever had. In the mains I prefer the sheesh taouk and NOT to miss the absolute yummy rose petal icecream. It's simply heavenly. Well that's about the food. The ambience is gorgeous with a 270 degree view of the panoromic view of Mumbai the harbour and the city. Simply romantic!!

  • caligirl caligirl
  • Sadly disappointing- the Taj can do better Nov 12, 2012

    I love Taj restaurants, and been meaning to try Souk for ages, but it turned out to be a real letdown.
    Firstly, we were 3 people and they sat us on a very cramped table for 2- the placemats were overlapping, and one of us was facing a pillar. Considering the restaurant was by no means full, this was in very poor taste.
    Secondly, the wait staff was very pushy on the drinks, which also left a very poor taste- class it up a bit, Taj!
    And on the food- we tried the lamb kibbe (fried mince with pine nuts)- which was decent, but nothing remarkable. In the mains we had:
    Chicken b'stillah-
    ... read more

  • saumilcool saumilcool
  • Great Middle Eastern food Feb 15, 2012

    Truly the best place in South Mumbai for middle eastern food. Souk has been consistent from day 1 and I have never had a bad experience here. Only the parking at Taj is sometimes a headache but worth it when coming there for Souk.

  • likestoeatout likestoeatout
  • Great food , view and service! Dec 13, 2011

    The mezze was fantastic, both for for veg and non veg items. Everything was fresh and flavorful.
    For mains, I had the chicken taouk and a lamb kebab dish, both were delightful. Fresh bread basket was brought to our table.
    Since we were sitting in view of the grill area, it did get a bit warm for us.
    The restaurant is on the rooftop of Taj and hence you can expect a spectacular view.
    Service was efficient and prompt without even overbearing. A must try!

  • navazl navazl
  • Awesome food, awesome ambience, awesome view! Oct 08, 2011

    What more can I say, our experience at Souk was absolutely fantastic! We tried the mezze buffet which had 20 veg and non veg items with flat breads served at the table. All were excellent! Had no space to order main course or dessert! Absolutely delicious and an excellent view of the sea, Gateway of India etc. A must try!!!

  • XNTrix XNTrix
  • A different day, a different experience... Aug 21, 2011

    You may have read my previous review on Souk where we had a horrifying experience with the service. We decided to go there again and what should I say? We were thrilled...the service was prompt, attentive, fast and most importantly friendly!

    The food was superlative as the previous time. We had a mezze with crispy lamb and pine nuts (awesome), a lamb kabab (wrapped up in thin pita bread), a veg tagine and one of the stuffed breads with cottage cheese and spinach. Each dish was a delight to the senses in its own right - full of flavour, the correct texture and visually appealing. We
    ... read more

  • XNTrix XNTrix
  • Great food, snooty service Apr 14, 2011

    if it was not for the food, it would have got a 1 star rating. Was there on Feb 2 and celebrating a special occasion. Booked in advance for 3. When we land up there, they try and squeeze us into a 2 seater. We move tables to something more comfortable and then waited for about 15 minutes to get some water. Waiters all around, but no one to get us the menu card for about 20-25 minutes - so we walked to the elevator, and were finally requested to come back to that they could serve us - phew!!

    From what I cud gather, the service staff is more keen to serve the hotel guests and expatriates
    ... read more

  • MumbaiMoo MumbaiMoo
  • Soukalicious Oct 05, 2010

    I've not been back to the Taj since the events of 26/11. However, a friend's sister visiting Bombay on business meant that it was high time to get rid of the old demons and get back to seeing the Taj for what it truly is: the jewel in Bombay's crown.

    This is s a show-stopper of a restaurant. It's there to halt you in your tracks and take your breath away upon entry (especially at night). And all this with down-to-earth, attentive service, extensive and interesting menu, and a diverse wine list.

    I suggested Souk primarily to give our guest a bird's eye view of night-time Mumbai
    ... read more

  • vns98 vns98
  • Simply Suberb May 16, 2010

    Last month i was staying at the Taj and after dining at most of the restaurants we were contemplating of dining at Souk ( not huge fan of mediterranean cuisine) ....We visited them for dinner clearly explaining we were their just for drinks and starters....

    What started as just drinks n starters went to main course and therafter dessert and ended with a moroccon mint tea....

    We are vegetarians and the food was excellent....We had lovely hummus and their breads were lovely especially the one with Zataar....I loved the Kolokythakia (tempuras for me) with yogurt dip ( the presentatio
    ... read more

  • missyroti missyroti
  • Good but not great Dec 03, 2009

    I visited the souk last week on the weekend for my birthday, we were contemplating taking the 'casablance'table but refrained from doing so.
    Ambience: Beautiful but when your looking at the Gateway of India view your most likely to see yourself. But inside its done classy could have been more morrocan.
    Drinks: A big shame. Ordered a caprishka and it had no alcohol and got another mojito and still no alcohol. Poorly made with a few ingridents left out.
    Service: Bad BAD BAD!!We waited 10mins for a menu and then another for someone to take our order which we had to grad the waiters
    ... read more

Contribute

Didn't find a particular place or event listed on burrp!? Help us by adding it.

+ Add Business+ Add Event

Get b! in your Inbox

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter to get the most of your city. Check out a sample newsletter here.

Browse By : Category| Locality| Cuisines| Features| Ambiance| Brands
Zones in Mumbai : All Zones| South Mumbai | Western Suburbs | Central Mumbai | Central Suburbs | Navi Mumbai | Thane
Burrp tools : b! Express| Explore on Maps| Newly Opened Places| Burrp Chef's Table in Mumbai
Local search in cities : Mumbai| Bangalore| Chennai| Delhi| Pune| Hyderabad| Ahmedabad| Kolkata| Goa| Jaipur| Chandigarh| Kochi| Lonavala| Panchgani| Darjeeling| Srinagar| Ooty| Mount Abu| Manali| Mahabaleshwar| Dehradun| Leh| Nainital| Kalimpong| Mussoorie| Kodaikanal| Coonoor| Coorg| Shimla| Dharamshala| Rishikesh|
Home| About Us| Company Blog| Careers| Sitemap| FAQ's| For Business Owners| Privacy Statement| Terms of Service
© 2006 - 2014 Burrp.com, All rights reserved| | Contact Us :